FREE ATTRACTIONS

1840 Mansion House Inn
214 E. Main St., Centerville
Tours available by appointment
(765) 855-2241
  The 1840 pioneer-era inn served as the office for the Western Stage Company where stagecoaches changed horses. It was also the site of one of the first women's temperance crusades in 1858. On June 30, 1858, several women stormed the bar armed with axes, and smashed several whiskey barrels after learning the barkeep was selling liquor to school boys. Most of the women ended up in jail overnight.

Amish Settlement
, Hagerstown
(765) 935-8687 (800) 828-8414 Tourism Bureau
  Scenic northern Wayne County is home to Indiana's newest Amish settlement. They are resourceful, self-reliant people, producing fresh vegetables, flowers, bison meat, handcrafted wooden outdoor/indoor furniture, and cabinets. Please watch for slow-moving, gray-top buggies in this part of the county. No pictures please!

Chocolate Trail of Wayne County
, Throughout Wayne County
Available year-round
(765) 935-8687 (800) 828-8414
  Chocolate Trail Brochure
Richmond and Wayne County's self-guided journey down the chocolate trail takes you to one-of-a-kind bistros, cafes, local chocolatier and candy shops/factories, historic homes, a winery, intriguing gift shops and more.

Chocolate is featured at each stop and is presented in many different forms.
The chocolate trail is available to explore and taste year-round.

Gourmet luncheons and dinners showcasing chocolate as an ingredient in each course will be served monthly at the historic Gennett Mansion.

To receive your FREE chocolate samples, you must present a Chocolate Trail Passport which can be obtained at the
Old National Road Welcome Center
5701 National Road E. (U.S. 40),
Richmond.

GROUPS OF 10 OR MORE MUST CALL EACH BUSINESS AT LEAST 48 HOURS PRIOR TO ARRIVAL TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS FOR YOUR GROUP. CONTACT NANCY SARTAIN @ NSARTAIN@VISITRICHMOND.ORG OR 800-828-8414 TO OBTAIN A LIST OF THE CHOCOLATE TRAIL STOPS.

Countryside Greenhouse
8141 N. Carlos Rd. (intersection of N. Carlos & W.E. Oler), Williamsburg
Mon, Wed, Thurs 7 a.m. - 5 p.m.; Tues & Fri 7 a.m. - 8 p.m.; Sat 7 a.m. - 4 p.m., closed Sun

  20,000 sq. ft. greenhouse with flowers, bedding plants, vegetable plants, hanging baskets, perennials, locally grown produce (seasonal), a large selection of mums (in fall) amd much more.

Earlham College
801 National Rd. W., Richmond
(765) 983-1200 or (800) EARLHAM
www.earlham.edu
  A national liberal arts college of 1,200, the College's mission still reflects the influence of the Quakers who founded it in 1847; enabling students to engage a changing world. Earlham is recognized for the internalization of its campus, for its commitment to international study, and for the high number of its graduates who eventually earn PhDs or who are chosen as Fulbright Scholars. Visitors are welcome!

Fossil Park
Corner of Bridge Ave. & Sim Hodgin Ave., Richmond
Open During Daylight Hours
765-983-7374
  The city of Richmond's name has come to mark a period of geological history dating back 440 million years ago. The "Richmondian" or the "Richmondian Age" describe a period in time where rock formations with names like "Whitewater," Liberty," "Waynesville" and "Arnheim" accumulated on the bottom of an ancient sea where east central Indiana and west central Ohio are now located.

An Earlham College professor and students have started a "fossil park" within the Bicentennial Park alongside Bridge Avenue near Sim Hodgin Parkway. For now the park is comprised of two informational signs overlooking a pile of fossiliferous rock that was transported to the site by Indiana Dept. of Transportation workers from a road cut along US 27 just south of the city limits (it is now illegal to hunt for fossils alongside roadways). Impressions from animals have been preserved on the rock, including brachipods (marine animals with shells), cephalolpods (squid) and bryozoa (moss animals).

The park is funded by contributions from Earlham's geology dept. and the Bonner Scholars Program's community fund.

Hill's Bark Park
End of Sylvan Nook Drive, Richmond
Dawn to Dusk
765-983-7275
  This fenced dog park has picnic tables and agility equipment. Sponsored by Hill's Pet Nutrition and Wayne County Foundation and private donations. Free.

Historic Cambridge City
Downtown Cambridge City - A Historic National Road Community, Cambridge City
(765) 935-8687 (800) 828-8414
  The town is located along the National Road in the heart of Antique Alley. It is the home of many antique and specialty shops, beautifully restored homes, and cozy eateries. In the mid 19th century, the Whitewater Canal flowed from Cambridge City to Cincinnati transporting freight and passengers. Join us the first weekend after Labor Day for Canal Days.

Historic Centerville
Main St. - A Historic National Road Community, Centerville
(765) 935-8687 or (800) 828-8414
www.centervillein.com
  Recently selected as a top small-town getaway by Midwest Living Magazine editors, Centerville is a town that time forgot offering a charming inn and intriguing antique and specialty shops. Centerville was an important stop along the National Road in the 19th century. As many as 200 wagons a day passed through Centerville providing livelihood to the inns, wagon shops, saddle shops, and tanneries. It still depicts the look of yesteryear with early 19th century row houses and archways.

Historic Depot District
Fort Wayne Ave. & N , Richmond
Hours vary
(765) 935-9055
www.InHistoricRichmond.com
  A grouping of 19th and early 20th century industrial structures. Today, these buildings house antique stores, fun and fabulous restaurants, chocolatier, unique shops, murals, and more!

Historic Hagerstown
, Hagerstown
(765) 935-8687 (800) 828-8414
www.hagerstown.in.gov
  Experience charming historic Hagerstown where you'll find antique and boutique shopping, Abbott's Candy Factory, Hagerstown Museum & Arts Place, and pleasurable dining, all within walking distance.

Historic National Road
5701 National Rd. E., Cambridge City
(765) 935-8687 (800) 824-8414
www.indiananationalroad.org
  Travelers along Indiana's historic National Road will see landscapes marked by the heyday of the 1840s to the 1940s. Historic villages with traditional Main Streets give way to rural pastures. From Federal-style "Pike Towns" and Victorian Streetcar neighborhoods to authentic mile markers and family-owned diners, follow the migration of the nation. See the fifteen interpretive panels along the National Road from Richmond to Terre Haute. Each panel tells the story of the National Road and the specific attraction it honors. National Road packets are available at the Old National Road Welcome Center.

Indiana Football Hall of Fame
815 N. , Richmond
Tues.-Fri 10-5. Sat. 12-4. Other times by appt.
(765) 966-2235
www.indiana-football.org
  The Indiana Football Hall of Fame honors those individuals who have made a significant contribution to the great game of football in Indiana at the high school, collegiate, or professional level. The IFHOF also preserves and displays football memorabilia from the early 1900s to the present.

Joseph Moore Museum of Natural History
Earlham College, 801 National Rd. W., Richmond
Mon., Wed., Fri. & Sun. 1-5 p.m.
(765) 983-1303
www.earlham.edu/joseph-moore-museum/
  An Egyptian mummy and giant prehistoric mammals captivate audiences of all ages. Learn about the fossils for which Richmond is world famous. Delight in the educational and fun hands-on exhibits. Gift shop available.
Free admission.

Madonna of the Trail
Corner of E. Main & 22nd St., Richmond
Dawn to Dusk
(765) 935-8687 (800) 828-8414
  In commemoration of pioneer mothers of the covered wagon days, this statue is the ninth link in the Great National Shrine erected by the Daughters of the American Revolution along the National Road Trail. There are only 12 statues linked along US 40 from Bethesda, Maryland, to Upland, California. The Richmond statue was dedicated in 1928 by a little-known Missouri judge, Harry S. Truman. The statue stands at the entrance of Glen Miller Park, US 40 E.

Middlefork Reservoir
End of Sylvan Nook Drive, off US 27 North, Richmond
765-983-7293
  The Middlefork Reservoir Park is a 405-acre facility which hosts a 177-acre stream and spring-fed lake. Owned by the Indiana-American Water Company, the Reservoir provides 60% of the water supply to the City of Richmond. The Parks and Recreation Department manages the recreation facilities and maintains the park grounds. In addition to fishing and boating, the park also hosts indoor and outdoor picnic areas, various active and passive play areas, hiking trails, a new dog park, and an excellent setting for enjoying an afternoon in the sun. Stop by the Service Center for a quick sandwich and cold drink! Located on Sylvan Nook Drive, the Middlefork Reservoir is undoubtedly one of Richmond's best kept secrets.

Rental boats are available during Service Center operational hours. See "Boat Rental at Middlefork"

Murals Trail
Various locations, Richmond
Sunrise to sunset
(765) 935-8687
www.waynefestivalofthearts.com
  More than 50 vibrant murals are woven along city streets and local businesses throughout Wayne County!

The murals of Wayne County exemplify the continued tradition of art through the eras with many painted by local artists. Some are profound, others whimsical. Several tell unique stories of the county over the past 200 years, including the Underground Railroad and Gennett Recordings. A large mural of jazz legend Hoagy Carmichael is located in downtown Richmond. You'll also find murals in Cambridge City, Greens Fork, Centerville and Hagerstown.

Stop by the Old National Road Welcome Center for a brochure on the murals highlighting all the captivating public art displays and find out why Richmond has become known as Indiana's "City of Murals."

During the summer of 2011, several new murals and sculptures will be added to the collection.

Museum of Overbeck Art Pottery
33 W. Main St., Cambridge City
Mon-Sat 10-12 and 2-5
(765) 478-3335
www.overbeckmuseum.com
  Overbeck Pottery, produced between 1911 and 1955, is recognized as an important part of our national art history. The museum preserves the creative art of the six Overbeck sisters, who lived and worked in Cambridge City, Indiana.

Old Richmond Historic District
S. 1st - 6th St. - just S. of Main St., Richmond
(765) 935-8687 or (800) 828-8414
  Richmond's oldest neighborhood has a charming mixture of private residential homes, cozy restaurants, shops, and exterior murals. The district was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1974 and expanded in 2003.

Overbeck House and Studio
600 W. Main St., Cambridge City
Tours available by appt.
(765) 478-5993
www.overbeckmuseum.org
  Overbeck Art Pottery was produced in the family home, built in 1830's. The house was rescued from demolition in 1973 and restored as a private residence. A coal-oil fired kiln is in the square kiln house. Donations accepted.

Richmond Art Museum
350 Hub Etchison Pkwy., McGuire Memorial Hall, Richmond
Tues.-Fri. 10-4; Sun. 1-4; Closed holidays. Group tours by appointment.
(765) 966-0256
www.richmondartmuseum.org
  Fine art museum, founded in 1898, featuring Indiana artists and American art including, T.C. Steele, John E Bundy, Wayman Adams, Wm. Merritt Chase, Robert Reid, Childe Hassam, and Overbeck pottery.

Salisbury Courthouse
212 E. Main St., Centerville
By appointment only
(765) 855-2241
  Built in 1811, the newly renovated log courthouse is the oldest existing courthouse in the Northwest Territory. Salisbury was a small settlement just south and about midway between Richmond and Centerville. Salisbury has long since disappeared.

Starr Gennett Historic Site & Gennett Recording Studio Walk of Fame
South First & Main Streets, Richmond
Every day dawn to dusk
(765) 962-1511 or (765) 935-8687
www.starrgennett.org
  The Walk of Fame was inaugurated in 2007 to commemorate famous artists who recorded at Gennett Records in the 1920's. Some of the artists include:
* Louis Armstrong
* Duke Ellington
* Gene Autry
* Bix Beiderbecke
* Hoagy Carmichael
* Georgia Tom (Thomas A. Dorsey)
* "Jelly Roll" Morton
* Joe "King" Oliver
* Lawrence Welk
* Fats Waller
* Uncle Dave Macon

Each artist that has been inducted was given a cast bronze and mosaic tile marker in the shape of a 78 rpm record on the Gennett Walk of Fame. Wayne County Historical Museum also displays Starr-Gennett items at 1150 N. A St.

The Gennett Walk of Fame is located along South First Street at the former site of the Starr Piano Co.

Starr Historic District
N. 10th St. area, Richmond
(765) 935-8687 or (800) 828-8414
  The Starr District, listed on the National Register, was developed from farmland bought by Charles and Elizabeth Starr from Jeremiah Cox, a Richmond founder. The land was subdivided into lots in the early 1850s and sold for residential construction. The homes reflect the early, middle, and late Victorian periods of architectural styles, as well as additions of early 20th century homes. This neighborhood was the home of many of Richmond-s business and industrial leaders and is an excellent example of the life and times of that era. The district is cited as having national significance because of its number of historic homes and the people who lived here.
Walking Tours: Brochure available at Old National Road Welcome Center.

Starr-Gennett Gallery
Inside the Richmond Furniture Gallery on Ft. Wayne Ave., Richmond
Tues.-Thurs. 10:30-5
(765) 962-2860
  Get a glimpse of jazz artists and recordings of times past in our quaint gallery.

Gift shop available.

The Enchanted Fairy Trail
National Road Welcome Center, 5701 National Road East, Richmond
765-935-8687
  The Enchanted Fairy Trail takes visitors on a fun adventure through Wayne County as you search for 50 small fairy doors, gardens, and homes placed in various businesses, museums, and restaurants.
These small enchanted dwellings offer a glimpse into the mystical world of fairies. Peeking through some windows you may spot a fairy bed, kitchen, or a fairy itself. Built with a colorful array of materials, the fairy doors throughout Wayne County offer families and children of all ages an exciting chance to explore the community in a unique fashion. Children can leave small gifts or write letters at some locations that offer fairy mail boxes, allowing direct interaction with the fairies and bringing a smile to every childs face.
Visitors will need to pick up their Enchanted Fairy Trail passport at the Old National Road Welcome Center, 5701 National Road East. This free, year round opportunity will provide hours of fun and excitement for everyone, young and old.

Tiffany Windows Trail
Downtown, Richmond
(765) 935-8687 or (800) 828-8414
  Richmond is home to an impressive collection of Louis Comfort Tiffany stained glass windows. Four sites within a five block area offer a glimpse of this magnificent National Art Treasure. Brochure available at the Old National Road Welcome Center.

Veterans Memorial Park
2nd St. & Main St. entrance to park (just west of Sheriff's Building), Richmond
Sunrise to sunset.

  Memorial Park contains memorials from WWII, the Korean War, and the Vietnam war along the scenic Whitewater River. Two M3A3 Stuart tanks that once sat on the Wayne County courthouse property reside in the park as well.

Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway
, Cambridge City
(765) 647-6512
www.whitewatercanalscenicbyway.org
  Crossing through a number of scenic and historic southeastern Indiana countries, the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway bridges the distance (76 miles) between the Ohio River and the historic National Road. Along this route are some of the state's most authentic canal features. In addition to locks, visitors can take a 25 minute cruise on a horse drawn canal boat, view a working grist mill, explore charming communities, tour historic home museums, and ride on the Whitewater Valley Railroad. The byway also offers outdoor opportunities from Brookville Lake to Whitewater Canal Trail. Don't miss out on craft and antique shopping while you explore this enjoyable region.

back to top | back to things to do

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ALL ATTRACTIONS

1840 Mansion House Inn
214 E. Main St., Centerville
Tours available by appointment
(765) 855-2241
  The 1840 pioneer-era inn served as the office for the Western Stage Company where stagecoaches changed horses. It was also the site of one of the first women's temperance crusades in 1858. On June 30, 1858, several women stormed the bar armed with axes, and smashed several whiskey barrels after learning the barkeep was selling liquor to school boys. Most of the women ended up in jail overnight.

Abington General Store
6776 Abington Pike, Abington
Mon.-Sat. 8-4 (winter hours Nov. 15-April 15; Mon.-Sat. 8-2)
(765) 855-3706
  Listed on the Indiana Historic Site and Structures Inventory, circa 1840, the old time country store offers a few antiques, pottery, collectibles, and deli-sandwiches. Special lunches and homemade pies served on Tuesday & Thursday.

Amish Settlement
, Hagerstown
(765) 935-8687 (800) 828-8414 Tourism Bureau
  Scenic northern Wayne County is home to Indiana's newest Amish settlement. They are resourceful, self-reliant people, producing fresh vegetables, flowers, bison meat, handcrafted wooden outdoor/indoor furniture, and cabinets. Please watch for slow-moving, gray-top buggies in this part of the county. No pictures please!

Boating at Middlefork Reservoir
End of Sylvan Nook, off US 27 North, Richmond
May 1 - August 31 - 6 a.m. - 8 p.m. 7 DAYS/WEEK, April 1 - April 30 & September 1 - September 25...7
765-983-7293
  You can rent a row boat at the Middlefork Reservoir for only $6/hour and $2 for each hour after? You can also launch your own fishing boat there for only $6/day or you can buy a yearly launch permit for $46/in state resident, $56/out of state resident. The Middlefork Reservoir is a "NO WAVE, NO WAKE" area and has a 6-horsepower maximum limit on boat motors.

Brookville Reservoir
Approx. 30 miles south of Richmond on Highway 101, Brookville
(765) 647-2657
  Brookville Lake is situated in the picturesque Whitewater River Valley with traces of prehistorical Indian mounds known for their archaeological significance. Something for everyone. Brookville has a 5,260 acre lake that is great for fishing complete with 10 ramps around the lake and four marinas. There are picnic and camping areas, beaches, and cabins for rent. Interpretive, recreational, and cultural arts programs are also available.

Out of state residents $7/car; Indiana residents $4/car. $5/car Fri, Sat, Sun, & holidays.

Chocolate Trail of Wayne County
, Throughout Wayne County
Available year-round
(765) 935-8687 (800) 828-8414
  Chocolate Trail Brochure
Richmond and Wayne County's self-guided journey down the chocolate trail takes you to one-of-a-kind bistros, cafes, local chocolatier and candy shops/factories, historic homes, a winery, intriguing gift shops and more.

Chocolate is featured at each stop and is presented in many different forms.
The chocolate trail is available to explore and taste year-round.

Gourmet luncheons and dinners showcasing chocolate as an ingredient in each course will be served monthly at the historic Gennett Mansion.

To receive your FREE chocolate samples, you must present a Chocolate Trail Passport which can be obtained at the
Old National Road Welcome Center
5701 National Road E. (U.S. 40),
Richmond.

GROUPS OF 10 OR MORE MUST CALL EACH BUSINESS AT LEAST 48 HOURS PRIOR TO ARRIVAL TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS FOR YOUR GROUP. CONTACT NANCY SARTAIN @ NSARTAIN@VISITRICHMOND.ORG OR 800-828-8414 TO OBTAIN A LIST OF THE CHOCOLATE TRAIL STOPS.

Clay Township Museum
19 Pearl St., Greens Fork
Thurs.-Sat. 10-5
(765) 886-5166
  The Museum features items from Clay and other Wayne County Townships, photos, a genealogy library, and more. Be sure to notice the post clock that stands outside the museum.
Donations accepted.

Countryside Greenhouse
8141 N. Carlos Rd. (intersection of N. Carlos & W.E. Oler), Williamsburg
Mon, Wed, Thurs 7 a.m. - 5 p.m.; Tues & Fri 7 a.m. - 8 p.m.; Sat 7 a.m. - 4 p.m., closed Sun

  20,000 sq. ft. greenhouse with flowers, bedding plants, vegetable plants, hanging baskets, perennials, locally grown produce (seasonal), a large selection of mums (in fall) amd much more.

Covered Bridges of Preble County, Ohio
7693 Swartsel Rd., Historical Society, Eaton, Ohio, Ohio
(937) 787-4256
  Over the years a total of 29 covered bridges were built in the Preble County, Ohio. Today, seven covered bridges remain including the oldest bridge in the state of Ohio.

Dublin Community Club Skating
Dublin Community Club, Dublin Park, Dublin
765478-4775
  A small, historic skating facility (since 1950), great for parties! Hours:
Nov 1-March 31 - Wed 5-8 p.m., Family Night Free Admission; Fri 6-9 p.m., 5th Grade & Under ONLY
Sept 1-May 31 - Sat 6-9 p.m., all ages
June 1-Aug 31 - closed for summer - parties only
Admission is $1.75; skate rental is $.50 or $1.00 for speed.

Earlham College
801 National Rd. W., Richmond
(765) 983-1200 or (800) EARLHAM
www.earlham.edu
  A national liberal arts college of 1,200, the College's mission still reflects the influence of the Quakers who founded it in 1847; enabling students to engage a changing world. Earlham is recognized for the internalization of its campus, for its commitment to international study, and for the high number of its graduates who eventually earn PhDs or who are chosen as Fulbright Scholars. Visitors are welcome!

Earlham College Lilly Library
801 National Rd. W., Richmond
Mon.-Thurs., 8 am-midnight; Fri. 8 am-10 pm ;Sat. 10-10;Sun. noon-midnight
(765) 983-1287 Genealogy--(765) 983-1743)
  An extensive collection of Quaker genealogy. Special holdings include the Herbert Hoover Peace Studies Collection. Earlham is a Library of Congress selected depository of government documents.

Eldora Speedway
13929 SR 118, Rossburg, OH
(937) 338-3815
www.eldoraspeedway.com
  Owned by NASCAR driver Tony Stewart. A 0.5 mile high-banked clay oval hosting Pennzoil World of Outlaws, USAC, Modifieds, All Star Sprints, Late Models, 360 Sprints, and other series. Season: April-Oct. Ticket prices and race times vary.

Fast Eddie's World of Speed
17 S. 10th St., Richmond
Wed.-Fri. 3-9 pm; Sat. 12-9; Sun. 12-6
(765) 935-3287
www.fasteddiesworldofspeed.com
  A full 1/24 scale Slot Car Racing business with four Race tracks. 2 Tri-Ovals, 1 Hill climb Road course, and 1 Scale 1/4 mile drag track. We have a full line of parts and accessories.

Fossil Park
Corner of Bridge Ave. & Sim Hodgin Ave., Richmond
Open During Daylight Hours
765-983-7374
  The city of Richmond's name has come to mark a period of geological history dating back 440 million years ago. The "Richmondian" or the "Richmondian Age" describe a period in time where rock formations with names like "Whitewater," Liberty," "Waynesville" and "Arnheim" accumulated on the bottom of an ancient sea where east central Indiana and west central Ohio are now located.

An Earlham College professor and students have started a "fossil park" within the Bicentennial Park alongside Bridge Avenue near Sim Hodgin Parkway. For now the park is comprised of two informational signs overlooking a pile of fossiliferous rock that was transported to the site by Indiana Dept. of Transportation workers from a road cut along US 27 just south of the city limits (it is now illegal to hunt for fossils alongside roadways). Impressions from animals have been preserved on the rock, including brachipods (marine animals with shells), cephalolpods (squid) and bryozoa (moss animals).

The park is funded by contributions from Earlham's geology dept. and the Bonner Scholars Program's community fund.

Gaar House and Farm Museum
2593 Pleasant View Rd., Richmond
Tours by appt.
(765) 966-1262
www.thegaarhouse.com
  Picture yourself living in an elegant Victorian Mansion, then tour the Gaar House and Farm Museum to see what life was like during that era. The home was built by Agnes and Abram Gaar in 1876. Garden and pool area available for special events. Admission is charged.

Gennett Mansion
1829 E. Main St., Richmond
Tours by appt.
(765) 935-0055
www.gennettmansion.com
  The Gennett Mansions historic atmosphere features fireplaces, antique Italian crystal chandeliers, a 1927 Starr baby grand piano, a gracious staircase and gorgeous hardwood floors. Tours are available by appointment.
We are proud to be an integral part of our local food movement, bringing seasonal, sustainably grown vegetables and responsibly raised meats from our local farmers to your table; all prepared by the culinary talent Jen Ferrell and presented in the elegant and comfortable ambiance of The Gennett Mansion. We have four private dining rooms, tables for two to ten, and dining rooms that seat eight to fifty. Let our staff create the perfect setting for your next Business or Social Event, Retreat, Seminar or Special Occasion.
Taste. Savor. Experience. Dine Divine. Admission is charged.

Get Fired Pottery Studio
1611 Chester Blvd., Richmond
Tue - Thu: 11:00 am - 7:00 pm; Fri - Sat: 11:00 am - 10:00 pm; Sun: 1:00 pm - 6:00 pm
765-488-2291
www.facebook.com/Getfiredpotterystudio
  Paint your own pottery studio. Hands-on studio allows you to pick the ceramic piece you like, add your own design and then leave it for the staff to glaze and fire. Come back in a week and your piece is finished and ready to take home!

Ghyslain Chocolatier & Bistro
416 N. 10th St.--Historic Depot District, Richmond
Tues.-Thurs. 7 am-7 pm; Fri. & Sat. 7 am-10 pm
(765) 966-3344
  Experience great food, desserts almost too beautiful to eat and, of course designer, hand-painted chocolates at Ghyslain.

Gelato, croissants and other baked goods available. Lunch and dinner served with specials of the day along with a delightful menu of freshly cooked entrees.

Ghyslain Chocolatier, Union City
350 W Deerfield, Union City
Mon.-Fri. 8-6;Sat. 9-5
(765) 964-7905 (866) 449-7524
www.ghyslain.com
  Wide array of gourmet French chocolates highlighted by their signature hand-painted chocolate collection. Breakfast pastries, croissant sandwiches & daily specials.

Tours given Monday-Friday. Admission charged. Call for details

Hagerstown Museum & Arts Place
96 1/2 E. Main St., Hagerstown
Museum open March-December, Wed-Sat 1-6 PM Arts Place open year around, Wed-Sat, 1-6 PM
(765) 489-4005
  The historic 1880s Museum building displays the history of the Nettle Creek area on two floors. Free admission. Arts Place on the ground floor provides free art lessons and materials on walk-in basis, for adults every Saturday, 2-6 PM. Free violin and childrens art lessons also provided. Original art by award-winning area artists, jewelry and books are for sale.

Hill's Bark Park
End of Sylvan Nook Drive, Richmond
Dawn to Dusk
765-983-7275
  This fenced dog park has picnic tables and agility equipment. Sponsored by Hill's Pet Nutrition and Wayne County Foundation and private donations. Free.

Historic Cambridge City
Downtown Cambridge City - A Historic National Road Community, Cambridge City
(765) 935-8687 (800) 828-8414
  The town is located along the National Road in the heart of Antique Alley. It is the home of many antique and specialty shops, beautifully restored homes, and cozy eateries. In the mid 19th century, the Whitewater Canal flowed from Cambridge City to Cincinnati transporting freight and passengers. Join us the first weekend after Labor Day for Canal Days.

Historic Centerville
Main St. - A Historic National Road Community, Centerville
(765) 935-8687 or (800) 828-8414
www.centervillein.com
  Recently selected as a top small-town getaway by Midwest Living Magazine editors, Centerville is a town that time forgot offering a charming inn and intriguing antique and specialty shops. Centerville was an important stop along the National Road in the 19th century. As many as 200 wagons a day passed through Centerville providing livelihood to the inns, wagon shops, saddle shops, and tanneries. It still depicts the look of yesteryear with early 19th century row houses and archways.

Historic Depot District
Fort Wayne Ave. & N , Richmond
Hours vary
(765) 935-9055
www.InHistoricRichmond.com
  A grouping of 19th and early 20th century industrial structures. Today, these buildings house antique stores, fun and fabulous restaurants, chocolatier, unique shops, murals, and more!

Historic Hagerstown
, Hagerstown
(765) 935-8687 (800) 828-8414
www.hagerstown.in.gov
  Experience charming historic Hagerstown where you'll find antique and boutique shopping, Abbott's Candy Factory, Hagerstown Museum & Arts Place, and pleasurable dining, all within walking distance.

Historic National Road
5701 National Rd. E., Cambridge City
(765) 935-8687 (800) 824-8414
www.indiananationalroad.org
  Travelers along Indiana's historic National Road will see landscapes marked by the heyday of the 1840s to the 1940s. Historic villages with traditional Main Streets give way to rural pastures. From Federal-style "Pike Towns" and Victorian Streetcar neighborhoods to authentic mile markers and family-owned diners, follow the migration of the nation. See the fifteen interpretive panels along the National Road from Richmond to Terre Haute. Each panel tells the story of the National Road and the specific attraction it honors. National Road packets are available at the Old National Road Welcome Center.

Huddleston Farm House Inn Museum
838 National Road, Mt. Auburn, Cambridge City, Mt. Auburn
Fridays 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., and by appointment.
765-478-3172
www.indianalandmarks.org
  Owned and restored by Indiana Landmarks, the museum operates as the National Road Heritage Site, where exhibits offer modern-day travelers a vivid picture of cross-country travel on the Historic National Road from Cumberland, Maryland to Vandalia, Illinois -- from the pioneer era to the present.
The Huddleston Farmhouse is located on the National Road (US 40) at the eastern edge of Cambridge City.
The new exhibits allow visitors to hear from a covered wagon traveler about the conditions on the raod, the food they ate, and where they found lodging. Visitors will experience the road surfaces over time, from a bumpy mud track dotted wtih tree stumps to brick, concrete, and the current asphalt.
Children can try the straw-filled mattress like the ones pioneers used on the floor of the travelers' kitchens. At an interactive wall-sized map, visitors can click on places from Maryland to Illinois to learn more about sites to visit on the National Road today. A simulation allows tourists to drive along the road viewing important National Road landmarks, including those lost, saved and endangered. Admission will be charged after September 10th. The Huddleston Farmhouse is located approximately 60 miles east of Indianapolis and 20 miles west of Richmond on U.S. 40, the Historic National Road.

Indiana Football Hall of Fame
815 N. , Richmond
Tues.-Fri 10-5. Sat. 12-4. Other times by appt.
(765) 966-2235
www.indiana-football.org
  The Indiana Football Hall of Fame honors those individuals who have made a significant contribution to the great game of football in Indiana at the high school, collegiate, or professional level. The IFHOF also preserves and displays football memorabilia from the early 1900s to the present.

J & J Winery & Big Daws Brew Haus
3415 National Rd. W., Richmond
Wed. 11-5 wine/beer/gift sales only; Thurs & Fri. 3-9; Sat. 11-10; Sun. 11-5
(765) 965-WINE
www.jjwinery.com
  An 8 acre winery & brewery nestled in a country setting, walking trails, and pond are a part of the wonderful landscape. Outdoor seating available with deck and authentic Italian wood-fire oven.

Casa di Vino offers a beverage tasting room and bar as well as a gift shop featuring a variety of wines, wine-related accessories, amateur wine-making kits and supplies along with many other gifts. Gift certificates and gift baskets are available for purchase.

Café fare of appetizers, salads, finger foods, desserts and other beverages will be on site. Winery tours, grape stomping contests, art walks, concerts, and wine making classes are just a few of the events planned at J & J Winery.

Joseph Moore Museum of Natural History
Earlham College, 801 National Rd. W., Richmond
Mon., Wed., Fri. & Sun. 1-5 p.m.
(765) 983-1303
www.earlham.edu/joseph-moore-museum/
  An Egyptian mummy and giant prehistoric mammals captivate audiences of all ages. Learn about the fossils for which Richmond is world famous. Delight in the educational and fun hands-on exhibits. Gift shop available.
Free admission.

Levi Coffin House
113 US 27 N., Fountain City
(June 1-Aug. 31) Tues.-Sat. 1-4; (Sept. 1-Oct. 31) Sat. only
(765) 847-2432
www.waynet.org/levicoffin
  A part of the legendary Underground Railroad for fleeing slaves of pre-Civil War days, this registered National Historic Landmark is a Federal style brick home built in 1839. More than 2,000 fugitive slaves were ushered to freedom through the Coffin House. The History Channel has listed the Levi Coffin House as one of the top 25 most historic sites in the United States.
Admission is charged.

Madonna of the Trail
Corner of E. Main & 22nd St., Richmond
Dawn to Dusk
(765) 935-8687 (800) 828-8414
  In commemoration of pioneer mothers of the covered wagon days, this statue is the ninth link in the Great National Shrine erected by the Daughters of the American Revolution along the National Road Trail. There are only 12 statues linked along US 40 from Bethesda, Maryland, to Upland, California. The Richmond statue was dedicated in 1928 by a little-known Missouri judge, Harry S. Truman. The statue stands at the entrance of Glen Miller Park, US 40 E.

Marker's Wally World
SR 101 S, Liberty
April 1-May & Labor Day-Oct., weekends only noon-8; Summer Hours: Mon. - Fri. noon-9; Sat. & Sun. 10
(765) 458-7229
  4 go-cart tracks, slick track, Nascar track, super dry slide, boat and tank tag, miniature golf, batting cages, golf driving range, kiddy bumper boats, and more.

Metamora Village
Box 117 (8 miles west of Brookville on US 52), Metamora
Season: Mid-April to Late Dec. Hours: Mon.-Fri. 10-4
(765) 647-2109
www.metamoraindiana.com
  Hand-crafted collectibles and antiques are plentiful in the quaint shops found in this scenic village. A train ride, carriage ride, and horse drawn boat ride allows you to experience early forms of transportation.

Metamorphosis Spa & Fitness
The Loft, 424 N. 10th St., Richmond
Tue - Fri: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm; Tue - Fri: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
765.965.LOFT
  Our cutting edge decor and a lively atmosphere will greet you as you enter the second level of The Loft. Escape and enjoy part of your day with us. We promise you will be recharged and feeling your best! Full menu of spa treatments as well as a salon (Art of Hair).

Middlefork Reservoir
End of Sylvan Nook Drive, off US 27 North, Richmond
765-983-7293
  The Middlefork Reservoir Park is a 405-acre facility which hosts a 177-acre stream and spring-fed lake. Owned by the Indiana-American Water Company, the Reservoir provides 60% of the water supply to the City of Richmond. The Parks and Recreation Department manages the recreation facilities and maintains the park grounds. In addition to fishing and boating, the park also hosts indoor and outdoor picnic areas, various active and passive play areas, hiking trails, a new dog park, and an excellent setting for enjoying an afternoon in the sun. Stop by the Service Center for a quick sandwich and cold drink! Located on Sylvan Nook Drive, the Middlefork Reservoir is undoubtedly one of Richmond's best kept secrets.

Rental boats are available during Service Center operational hours. See "Boat Rental at Middlefork"

Model T Ford Museum
309 N. 8th St, Richmond
Tues.-Sun. 10-5

www.mtfca.com
  See 14 Model T Fords representing years of the Model T production 1908-1927. Come see the items in our gift shop!
Admission charged.
Free for Model T Ford Club members.

Morrisson-Reeves Library
80 N. 6th St., Richmond
Mon.-Thurs. 9-7; Fri. & Sat. 9-5; Closed on Sundays
(765) 966-8291
www.mrl.lib.in.us
  Genealogists and history buffs will find a wealth of information at our modern, spacious library. The little ones will enjoy Children's Story time. Annual book sale is held in April.

Murals Trail
Various locations, Richmond
Sunrise to sunset
(765) 935-8687
www.waynefestivalofthearts.com
  More than 50 vibrant murals are woven along city streets and local businesses throughout Wayne County!

The murals of Wayne County exemplify the continued tradition of art through the eras with many painted by local artists. Some are profound, others whimsical. Several tell unique stories of the county over the past 200 years, including the Underground Railroad and Gennett Recordings. A large mural of jazz legend Hoagy Carmichael is located in downtown Richmond. You'll also find murals in Cambridge City, Greens Fork, Centerville and Hagerstown.

Stop by the Old National Road Welcome Center for a brochure on the murals highlighting all the captivating public art displays and find out why Richmond has become known as Indiana's "City of Murals."

During the summer of 2011, several new murals and sculptures will be added to the collection.

Museum of Overbeck Art Pottery
33 W. Main St., Cambridge City
Mon-Sat 10-12 and 2-5
(765) 478-3335
www.overbeckmuseum.com
  Overbeck Pottery, produced between 1911 and 1955, is recognized as an important part of our national art history. The museum preserves the creative art of the six Overbeck sisters, who lived and worked in Cambridge City, Indiana.

Old Richmond Historic District
S. 1st - 6th St. - just S. of Main St., Richmond
(765) 935-8687 or (800) 828-8414
  Richmond's oldest neighborhood has a charming mixture of private residential homes, cozy restaurants, shops, and exterior murals. The district was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1974 and expanded in 2003.

Overbeck House and Studio
600 W. Main St., Cambridge City
Tours available by appt.
(765) 478-5993
www.overbeckmuseum.org
  Overbeck Art Pottery was produced in the family home, built in 1830's. The house was rescued from demolition in 1973 and restored as a private residence. A coal-oil fired kiln is in the square kiln house. Donations accepted.

Paint the Towne
197 Fort Wayne Ave., Richmond
Wed-Fri 10-6; Sat 10-4
765-488-2163
http://www.paintthetowne.us/
  Newly opened whimsical business in the Depot District! We offer pre-made pottery pieces that you can paint any way you wish! Once your pottery piece is dry, we glaze it and fire it in our kiln. This process takes about a week. When your piece is finished, we'll call you for pick up.

Park 'n Bark
8089 State Road 38, Greens Fork
765-962-4389
  Located on the campus of Greens Fork Animal Hospital, it features three separate or integrated fenced playards with equipment for both human and canine friends. Let your pet explore the great outdoors, off-leash and in a protected environment. Dogs must be current on shots and it's good to have your records with you. $10 for 1 year's use. Call for hours.

Richmond and Wayne County Audio Driving Tour
Historic Richmond, Richmond
(765) 935-8687 (800) 828-8414
www.visitrichmond.org
  Pop in the CD, unfold the route map, and enjoy a two-hour driving tour of Historic Richmond's colorful past. CD available for purchase at the Old National Road Welcome Center, 5701 National Rd. E., Richmond, IN.

Richmond Art Museum
350 Hub Etchison Pkwy., McGuire Memorial Hall, Richmond
Tues.-Fri. 10-4; Sun. 1-4; Closed holidays. Group tours by appointment.
(765) 966-0256
www.richmondartmuseum.org
  Fine art museum, founded in 1898, featuring Indiana artists and American art including, T.C. Steele, John E Bundy, Wayman Adams, Wm. Merritt Chase, Robert Reid, Childe Hassam, and Overbeck pottery.

Richmond RiverRats Baseball
McBride Stadium, 201 NW 13th St., Richmond
765.935.RATS
www.richmondriverrats.com/
  The Richmond RiverRats are a member of the Prospect League, that includes 13 other teams from around the midwest. Our season begins play in late May and ends in August. RiverRats play a total of 56 games throughout the summer, with 28 home games being played on John Cate Field at McBride Stadium.
SINGLE GAME ADMISSION BOX SEAT - $7 RESERVED SEAT - $5

SEASON TICKETS Enjoy all of the action all season long.

Guarantee your place in the box seats while enjoying all of these other exclusive benefits: -E-newsletter -Same seat every game -Special invitation only events -Exclusive events only for season ticket holders -Discounted single game tickets -Priority status for other events held at McBride Statdium Season Tickets: BOX SEATS - $130 GENERAL ADMISSION - $99

Safari Arcade
340 NW 5th St., Richmond
Monday - Thursday 5 - 8 pm
765-488-2083
  Over 3,000 sq. ft. of family fun. Arcade prize games, ticket prize games, kids birthday parties. Serving pizza, hot dogs, hamburgers, popcorn, soft serve ice cream, candy and snacks.

Salisbury Courthouse
212 E. Main St., Centerville
By appointment only
(765) 855-2241
  Built in 1811, the newly renovated log courthouse is the oldest existing courthouse in the Northwest Territory. Salisbury was a small settlement just south and about midway between Richmond and Centerville. Salisbury has long since disappeared.

Starr Gennett Historic Site & Gennett Recording Studio Walk of Fame
South First & Main Streets, Richmond
Every day dawn to dusk
(765) 962-1511 or (765) 935-8687
www.starrgennett.org
  The Walk of Fame was inaugurated in 2007 to commemorate famous artists who recorded at Gennett Records in the 1920's. Some of the artists include:
* Louis Armstrong
* Duke Ellington
* Gene Autry
* Bix Beiderbecke
* Hoagy Carmichael
* Georgia Tom (Thomas A. Dorsey)
* "Jelly Roll" Morton
* Joe "King" Oliver
* Lawrence Welk
* Fats Waller
* Uncle Dave Macon

Each artist that has been inducted was given a cast bronze and mosaic tile marker in the shape of a 78 rpm record on the Gennett Walk of Fame. Wayne County Historical Museum also displays Starr-Gennett items at 1150 N. A St.

The Gennett Walk of Fame is located along South First Street at the former site of the Starr Piano Co.

Starr Historic District
N. 10th St. area, Richmond
(765) 935-8687 or (800) 828-8414
  The Starr District, listed on the National Register, was developed from farmland bought by Charles and Elizabeth Starr from Jeremiah Cox, a Richmond founder. The land was subdivided into lots in the early 1850s and sold for residential construction. The homes reflect the early, middle, and late Victorian periods of architectural styles, as well as additions of early 20th century homes. This neighborhood was the home of many of Richmond-s business and industrial leaders and is an excellent example of the life and times of that era. The district is cited as having national significance because of its number of historic homes and the people who lived here.
Walking Tours: Brochure available at Old National Road Welcome Center.

Starr-Gennett Gallery
Inside the Richmond Furniture Gallery on Ft. Wayne Ave., Richmond
Tues.-Thurs. 10:30-5
(765) 962-2860
  Get a glimpse of jazz artists and recordings of times past in our quaint gallery.

Gift shop available.

The Enchanted Fairy Trail
National Road Welcome Center, 5701 National Road East, Richmond
765-935-8687
  The Enchanted Fairy Trail takes visitors on a fun adventure through Wayne County as you search for 50 small fairy doors, gardens, and homes placed in various businesses, museums, and restaurants.
These small enchanted dwellings offer a glimpse into the mystical world of fairies. Peeking through some windows you may spot a fairy bed, kitchen, or a fairy itself. Built with a colorful array of materials, the fairy doors throughout Wayne County offer families and children of all ages an exciting chance to explore the community in a unique fashion. Children can leave small gifts or write letters at some locations that offer fairy mail boxes, allowing direct interaction with the fairies and bringing a smile to every childs face.
Visitors will need to pick up their Enchanted Fairy Trail passport at the Old National Road Welcome Center, 5701 National Road East. This free, year round opportunity will provide hours of fun and excitement for everyone, young and old.

Tiffany Windows Trail
Downtown, Richmond
(765) 935-8687 or (800) 828-8414
  Richmond is home to an impressive collection of Louis Comfort Tiffany stained glass windows. Four sites within a five block area offer a glimpse of this magnificent National Art Treasure. Brochure available at the Old National Road Welcome Center.

Veterans Memorial Park
2nd St. & Main St. entrance to park (just west of Sheriff's Building), Richmond
Sunrise to sunset.

  Memorial Park contains memorials from WWII, the Korean War, and the Vietnam war along the scenic Whitewater River. Two M3A3 Stuart tanks that once sat on the Wayne County courthouse property reside in the park as well.

Wayne County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 2599, Richmond

  The Genealogical Society research committee will search for information in response to specific requests. The society operates a Family History Library, located in the basement of St. John Lutheran Church educational building at S. 7th and "A" Streets.

Wayne County Historical Museum
1150 N. , Richmond
Mon.-Fri. 9-4; Sat. & Sun. 1-4 (Closed Sundays Jan.-Feb.)
(765) 962-5756
www.waynecountyhistoricalmuseum.com
  The WAYNE COUNTY HISTORICAL MUSEUM and more than 1,300 museums across America will offer free admission to all active duty military personnel and their families from Memorial Day through Labor Day 2011. Leadership support has been provided by MetLife Foundation through Blue Star Families. The complete list of participating museums is available at www.arts.gov/bluestarmuseums.

The Julia Meek Gaar collection features curiosities from around the world: Authentic Egyptian mummy, Gaar-Scott Steam Engines, Starr-Gennett Jazz Collection, Davis airplane, Wooten desk, pioneer life exhibits, the early automobile collection of Richmond-made cars and much more! Celebrations include Heritage Festival, KidsFest, Tales from the Departed, and Christmas Festival.
Admission charged, group rates available.

Whitewater Canal Historic Site
Whitewater Canal State Historic Site, Box 88, Metamora
Season: Mill, April 1-Mid Dec., Wed.-Sun. 9-5; Canal Boat May 1 - Oct. 31, Wed.-Sun. 12-4
(765) 647-6512
www.indianamuseum.org/sites/whit/html
  The Indiana State Historic Site Canal Boat Run, located in Old Metamora offers horse-pulled canal boat rides for your pleasure. A restored and operational Grist Mill, powered by the water of the canal, offers a unique opportunity to watch whole grains milled into cornmeal and grits.
Mill is free; Admission charged for canal boat.

Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway
, Cambridge City
(765) 647-6512
www.whitewatercanalscenicbyway.org
  Crossing through a number of scenic and historic southeastern Indiana countries, the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway bridges the distance (76 miles) between the Ohio River and the historic National Road. Along this route are some of the state's most authentic canal features. In addition to locks, visitors can take a 25 minute cruise on a horse drawn canal boat, view a working grist mill, explore charming communities, tour historic home museums, and ride on the Whitewater Valley Railroad. The byway also offers outdoor opportunities from Brookville Lake to Whitewater Canal Trail. Don't miss out on craft and antique shopping while you explore this enjoyable region.

Whitewater Memorial Park Saddle Barn
1418 S.R. 101 South, Liberty
Call for hours
(765) 458-5565
  Enjoy horseback riding in the scenic 200 acre Whitewater Memorial State Park.

1.5 mile ride-$15 2.5 mile ride-$20 9 mile ride including circumference of entire park-takes 3 hours-$50

Whitewater Memorial State Park
1418 SR 101, Liberty
(765) 458-5565
www.dnr.IN.gov/parklake
  Two-hundred acre Whitewater Lake and access to Brookville Reservoir, along with other recreational facilities make Whitewater Memorial State Park a great family getaway. Fishing, hunting, hiking trails, picnic shelters,swimming beach, bridle trails,nature programs, camping and more!

Whitewater Valley Railroad
455 Market St. (5th & Grand Streets), Connersville
(765) 825-2054
www.whitewatervalleyrr.org
  Travel through time on Indiana's most Scenic Railroad. Built on the towpath of the Whitewater Canal, the railroad offers a 17 mile, 1 1/2 hour (one way) journey from Connersville to Historic Metamora, a restored 1838 Canal Town. Round trip allows for a 2-hour layover in Metamora for shopping and sightseeing. Special events include Day Out with Thomas, Wild West, Polar Express, Metamora Steam Weekends, Train to Dinner, and more. Check website for fares, dates, and times.

Wilbur Wright Birthplace
1525 N. 750 E. Follow signs on S.R. 38 , Henry County, just west of Hagerstown
Apr 1-Nov 1 Tues.-Sat. 10-5, Sun. 1-5, or by appt.
(765) 332-2495
www.wwbirthplace.com
  Full-scale replica of 1903 Wilbur Flyer. Kitty Hawk video. Displays of family history with Wright Brothers struggles and successes before and after Kitty Hawk. 1903 Main Street includes print and bicycle shops. Wilbur's rebuilt birth home.

Admission is charged.

Wilson Wines
10137 Indian Trail Rd., Modoc
Thurs. & Fri. 6-9 pm; Sat. & Sun. 1-6
(765) 533-6616
www.wilsonwines.com
  A small family owned winery featuring grape and fruit wines. Visit us and enjoy complimentary wine tasting of our award winning wines. Special events are held throughout the year. Check out our web-site.

Winchester Speedway
2656 W. SR 32, Winchester
(765) 584-9701
 

back to top | back to things to do